Struggling With the Adoption Wait

The wait for a placement is a roller-coaster of emotion that you hope will end soon. Most days everything is fine, we are both so busy with life in general that I don’t think or dwell too much on the fact that we are still not parents. Other days though it hits me like a ton of bricks, whether it is from hearing someone is now expecting, being around children, thinking about how ‘easy’ compared to us some people have at becoming parents, etc. Although we are always happy for those friends and family that have children already or are blessed to be expecting a child, we can get a little disheartened for ourselves.

I am trying to be positive that it will happen and that we will soon be a family of 3 (or more) instead of just 2 but sometimes no matter what I do I can’t get out of that funk. I try and think about all the good things we do have in our lives right now and remember all the things we are working on while we have time. The problem usually ends up being that we are expecting too just with an undetermined length of pregnancy. Without knowing when that end date is it can feel like it might never happen. I think that even if we had for example another year to wait until we adopt I could deal easier knowing the date than not having any date for sure but actually adopting in 3 months.

Hopefully, my current state of anger/sadness/frustration with everything will pass just as quickly as it started. If it doesn’t I will be spending a lot of time with family and friends this weekend and will be too busy to stress over it so I know it will pass soon.

Leave a Reply

